• Home
  • About PCM
  • Media
  • Current Affairs
  • Theme Songs
  • Paralimpiad Malaysia
  • Sports
  • Anti-Doping
  • Classification
  • Sports Science and Education
  • Human Resource Development
  • Awards
  • Gerakan Paralimpik Negara
  • Calendar of Events
  • Proud Supporter Programme
  • Contingent Achievement
  • Road to London 2012
  • Sponsors
  • Feedback
  • Contact Us
  • Links


Wheelchair Tennis

Wheelchair Tennis appeared for the first time on the Paralympic Programme in Barcelona in 1992. It originated from the USA in the 1970s and continues to develop a strong following of players and fans internationally.

The game follows able-bodied Tennis rules and athletes must have high levels of skill, fitness and strategy. The only difference in Wheelchair Tennis competitions is that the ball is allowed to bounce two times - the first bounce being within the bounds of the court.

Athletes must have a permanent substantial or total loss of function in one or both legs. For the quad division the eligibility criteria require that a player has a disability in three or more limbs. The events are singles (between two players) and doubles (between two pairs). The winner of a match is the first athlete or pair to win two sets.

The International Tennis Federation (ITF) is the governing body for Wheelchair Tennis. In 2011, Wheelchair Tennis is practiced by athletes in more than 100 countries.

Wheelchair Tennis also has an international tour. The NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour originated in 1992 with 11 international tournaments but has grown in size and popularity with currently over 170 tournaments taking place all over the world.

For more detailed information on Wheelchair Tennis, please visit the ITF website at



© 2009. Malaysian Paralympic Council. All Rights Reserved.